PDA

View Full Version : Show and Tell SUN. Sept 26

sassybird
09-26-2004, 03:43 AM
I'm going to be gone 4 or 5 days, so I wanted to get this posted. This is a focal that I made from beads sent to me from several of you folks. I call it Abstract Banana Monkey. I have a friend that loves Monkeys and I have a design in mind for a necklace. Just waiting to buy some spacer and accent beads. She likes big jewelry, and this focal is about 3.5x3" This is my first time of putting anything together like this so be gentle with me:)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/26-Sep-2004/1355-Monkey.jpg

SuzyQ
09-26-2004, 08:59 AM
That is one cool looking monkey, not bad at all!

O.K. as promised here are my bead babies fresh off the mandrels. But first I have to tell you it was a terrific class. Sandy Seamen taught and she was just right for me. She gave a little demo and then let us have at it. I got to make tons of mistakes, and it couldn't have been better.
Now for the beadies....I had to tell my husband that it really was my turn because he kept bending the mandrels! There are 3 beads never coming off because of the bends. It's o.k. they were my raised bead attempts that are better left unseen.
The one on the mandrel is my very first bead. I can keep it for me forever because it won't come off! I guess I burned off a little too much before laying down the glass. As you can see I had a little trouble with stringers (the coral and blue thing), we got to play with pixie dust and some of mine stuck more than others, my raking attempt was a bit overdone and I have to say my melted in dots wasn't half bad. I think I am going to love having all day to play...... except for my darn chores, and that little business of mine.....

Thanks for indulging me my friends :)

BBsBaubles
09-26-2004, 09:10 AM
Charissa, Sassy Banana Monkey is so much fun! I know a few others that would really like it too. Don't forget to S&T the necklace when you're done!