PDA

View Full Version : Where to from here?

AtrediesNT
09-26-2004, 12:04 AM
I am soooo new to this Acrylic painting stuff,it's all so confounding.
i am having trouble getting the ideas from my head..(and there are HEAPS),onto the canvas.
So for playing around and learning purposes,i have bought a smll a4 book of preprimed canvas sheets.Very good invention BTW.

I first did a painting of some Frangipani,but they just ended up looking like Pink Airplane Propellors.. :(
I have realised that i am not a reincarnated Great artist,i am a here and now artist. :D .
So anyway,i have decided to KISS.(Keep it simple stupid),and instead of trying to understand techniques and recreate the perfect pic that i see in my head,i am going to quote an Ad slogan (i hope i don't get sued..),"Just Do It".

After having said all that..i ahve hit a mental block.
I just don't know where to go now.
I am very good at playing with and laying down colour when it comes to Pencil art,but when it comes to the paints,it's where I come undone.
It's so much easier when you just pick up the correct colour/tone and just lay it on what your doing.A bit of a finger rub here,and a bit of presuure there,and WULLA...a masterpeice.
So any way... i tend to blabber on a bit.

but i would like a bit of advice on where to go from here.Which Direction etc.

I have attached my referance pick....the girl on the far right in the pink Bikini is my Sis in law,the hunk oin the middle is her hubby.
There are also two photos as i have no scanner,one with the flash,one without.This is just a bit of laying down of colour,the Hill's are a pale pale almost white green.The forground a pale pale almost white blue/grey.
although the camera dopesn't pic it up.
I hope i done this attacment thing right,sorry for rambling,but i am like this in real life too...Ha hahaha!

Lady Carol
09-26-2004, 09:21 AM
Great start.
Well you need to draw in your people.