PDA

View Full Version : I've Been working on my Photo Skills....What do you think?

dawnann
09-24-2004, 05:06 PM
Hi all, I have been playing with my camera after reading all the post on Photo taking.....I actually have a Macro Button, LOL....Please let me know how to improve these shots...I took them outside with no sun. Thanks all, I really love WC! Dawn

thatgirl
09-24-2004, 06:01 PM
Hi Dawn!

Love your beads - the second set in particular grabbed my attention! Well.. I'm no photo expert, but I have been playing around the last few days with background colors. A lot of people recommend purchasing the photgraphic 'grey card' to take photos of their beads on.. since I've been having a heck of a time trying to find a stockist here in Australia for it, I decided to try and make one myself. All I did was find a picture on the web of a grey card, saved it to my hard drive, then I used Paint Shop Pro to print a full page of the color. Here's the results of the last few photos I took on my 'makeshift grey card' - I took these photos in the early morning (10-11 am) on an overcast day in my office - I used macro and also manual mode.. and set the white balance to 'auto' (ignore the 'click for larger view' I've added to one of the pictures!).

I couldn't believe how much better the beads looked with this simple piece of paper used as the background.. normally I take my photos on a white background and then have to spend ages 'tweaking' the photos to get the colors right - this time all I had to do was crop the image and add the border.

Not sure if this info is helpful or not, but I've also included the 'snippet' of grey card below that you can use to create your own background.. just enlarge it to fit a sheet of paper and print it out.. see if it helps! If you're not sure how to do that, just email me and I'll happily send you, or anyone else, a JPG image of the grey card already sized to fit a standard piece of paper and you can just print it out.

Cheers,
Sue :cat: