PDA

View Full Version : Pittsburgh local artist club?

mroy27
09-24-2004, 12:29 PM
Hi Everyone,

I have been been a Wet Canvas member for a year now and I spend atleast an hour or two everyday on this website even though this is my first post. I have been greatly helped by the artists over here, they without even knowing how much they have assisted me. I am really grateful to them. I am primarily self taught and have learnt a lot about composition, techniques, acrylics and so much more. I hope to get a digital camera soon so that I can post some of my Acrylic work.
Now I have seen some members here who are from the Pittsburgh area and I wanted to know if there are any local artist clubs in Pittsburgh? I moved to Pittsburgh last year and I don't know many people in this city and especially want to know more people with same interests as myself. It is hard to make friends when you are moving as much as I do, in the last 6 years this is the fourth city I have moved to.

Thanks a bunch...
Manju

ExpressiveAngie
09-24-2004, 07:19 PM
I am from the south so no help but I wanted to say HELLO :wave:

Lady Carol
09-24-2004, 09:33 PM
Have you done an internet search?

mroy27
09-24-2004, 09:45 PM
Angie: Thanks for your welcome!
Carol: Funny you would ask that! I did lots of searches and found this organization called Pittsburgh Center of the Arts, which stated that it had lots of Arts classes and claimed to be a good way to meet lot of artists. Infact this org was founded in 1945... that old. So I decided to pay them a visit and was really excited.When I reached there I found out that just the day before they closed down the center after so many years because of a $ 2 million debt! Since then I have been trying other places but haven't had any luck.

ExpressiveAngie
09-25-2004, 06:56 AM
I really believe I am lucky to live in a small town sometimes...no such problems finding the art association, heck they find you sometimes!