PDA

View Full Version : Masha in Charcoal

Verdaccio
10-25-2001, 02:20 PM
This is a commission. The first of two kids done in charcoal. Her name is Masha. The client wants me to add some color to the eyes and cheeks using pastels over the charcoal - kind of like a hand colored photograph. I am apprensive about doing that fearing to screw up my work.

Anyone ever done pastels with charcoal? Can you post anything I can see as an example? I am going to do some samples on copies to see what the effect will be.

http://www.fineportraitsinoil.com/Masha-Charcoal450.jpg

MarshaSavage
10-26-2001, 07:21 AM
This is an absolutely fabulous portrait! I'm sure as accomplished as you are, you have used workable fixative?

I am a pastel artist - and rarely use the stuff, but I do have to use it sometimes, when overworking a mistake that has been corrected. It does work wonderfully! It does have its good points - One of which is the fact that you can spray the charcoal and then work on top of it without the fear of smudging it. Many pastel artists first create in charcoal - especially figure studies - and then spray with the workable fixative and start painting on top of that with their pastels. If you haven't done this before, try a small one first to learn how it goes before working on your wonderful portrait. Let us know what you do and also post us your results.

Again, wonderful work! Can't wait to see the finished one.

Marsha --
Marsha Hamby Savage Art (http://marshasavage.artistnation.com)

Verdaccio
10-26-2001, 09:41 AM
Hello Marsha! Thanks for the comments and advice. Yes, I do use workable fixative and plan to here as well. To my mind, pastels and charcoal are two different mediums that don't necessarily go together - "Hey, you got charcoal in my pastel"...."and you got pastel in MY charcoal!" I am going to try to talk the client out of it and hope for the best if I she decides she wants it anyway. Practice boards a plenty!

Anna Marie
10-26-2001, 05:47 PM