PDA

View Full Version : Coloured paper or not to have coloured

Brad121
09-18-2004, 08:45 AM
As i'm new to soft pastels, my experience as been rather limited to sketching on smooth white paper.
It's only natural that I go to buy some quality paper for pastels, and to look for the colour and style that i've thus far been used to. Hence i've been looking for a slightly textured (because i'm led to believe that textured is best) white and of course cheap paper. The card tends to be more expensive, and as i'm practising, i'll keep to the cheap stuff for the moment.

In the art shops that i've been into, they seem to have plenty of pads with all assorted coloured pages. No, black, red and various other colours don't inspire me....I've just found a shop that had some 80gms textured paper that they called ivory, a light cream colour.
Am I displaying complete ignorance of the medium in looking for white?
I've seen pastel pictures on white enough times, i'm sure...

I might get the ivory, but I think I would be happier with white, with a slight texture perhaps...

Is there something dreadfully wrong with using cartridge paper or other smooth paper pads that are readily available in the art shops.

Thanks,

Brad

Paula Ford
09-18-2004, 09:28 AM
Hi Brad and Welcome to the Pastel Forum!!

Personally, I LOVE using white, off white or cream, light blue, and beige. Dark colored papers seem to distract me.

I assume by "textured" you mean sanded? Does it feel like sand paper? Now that I've used sanded papers, I'll never go back to the smooth kind.

There is nothing wrong with using white...Albert Handell uses white!!, nor is there anything wrong with using the smooth papers from your local art stores!!

My suggestion is to use the best quality papers you can so that if you turn out a masterpiece, it will stay a masterpiece for a very long time.

Paula

meowmeow
09-18-2004, 10:03 AM
Welcome, Brad! I thin you've come to a great place for information about pastels.