PDA

View Full Version : what type of surface to paint acrylics

Osteomark
09-17-2004, 11:06 AM
I just did my 2nd Acrylic. This time on a hard board covered with gessoed canvas. I don't like it compared to just canvase over a frame. I couldn't seem to spread well. I don't think it absorbed as quickly either. Probably secondary to the hard surface under the canvas.Any suggestions on the best surface to paint acrylics.

Thanks

Mark

dspinks
09-17-2004, 11:27 AM
I use stretched canvas, which I really like. The one time I used canvas board, I didn't like the lack of "spring" in my strokes.

Debra

jbitzel
09-17-2004, 12:05 PM
I agree, nothing beats a stretched canvas. Some people like smoother surfaces but I am not that good at blending anyways. However wood is also fun. :wave:

MsLilypond
09-17-2004, 12:50 PM
I like to paint on gessoed hardboard & gessoed luann. It' means of course I have to gesso them myself but it gives me something to do in between projects.

Bertoni
09-17-2004, 01:52 PM
I agree with Ms Lilypond, gessoed hardboard and Luan are terrific.
Since I like a smoother surface, gessoed illustration board, matboard and water color paper also work well for me! I too gesso the stuff myself!
I still use various canvas possibilities from time to time, but the raised surface has become a negative and gets in my way!! :)

Osteomark
09-17-2004, 03:03 PM
Bertoni,

Thats it. Your right its the raised surface that I have trouble with on the hard board covered with canvas. Thanks. I just bought some System 3 by Dawler and Rowney and Lyons canvas. Hope it works well.

Thanks

Mark

sassybird
09-17-2004, 03:15 PM
I prefer working on canvas or 4 ply museum board. Stonehenge is a good paper to work acrylics on since it has a bit of texture, but is mostly smooth. It is also a very strong paper.

kdkbrown
09-17-2004, 07:46 PM
With out a doubt, Claybord Original Smooth by Ampersand is my all time favorite surface to paint on. Try some out, you won't be disappointed.