PDA

View Full Version : First time posting wip

Nancy Leone
09-14-2004, 08:26 PM
Hi all, I practiced posting on the new user channel (successfully, to my amazement) so here goes. For someone that gets embarassed when 1 person looks over my shoulder when I'm painting this is pretty intimidating. :o I've seen what great work so many of you do. This wip is from an old photo I took in Italy. It's 18x24 (about) on mat board. I'm pretty new at pastels but just signed up for an Albert Handell workshop in October...so better get practicing! Would greatly appreciate all C&C. Thanks, Nancy

Artistammy
09-14-2004, 08:37 PM
Welcome! This doesn't look like you're too new to pastels. I hope you enjoy the forum as much as I do.

Khadres
09-14-2004, 09:10 PM
Wow! This doesn't look "beginner" to me either! Love the dusty colors and that palm tree especially! Not sure you meant the buildings to lean right, but maybe you did. The boats are well done, as well! Welcome to the forum and keep 'em coming! You'll fit right in!

Deborah Secor
09-14-2004, 09:16 PM
Nancy, so glad you've decided to join us! Don't ever be embarrassed to show work--how else do we learn?! I know it can be hard, though. ;)

I really like this painting. You've designed it using some interesting and unusual shapes, and the muted palette really compliments it. The colors give it a European flavor. I wonder, did you rough up the surface of the matboard with sandpaper before painting this or not? I know folks do that sometimes... Matboard can be sort of slick for pastels.

I worked with Albert Handell for a number of years. He's really THE Master. I suggest you try some Wallis sandpaper, if you haven't already. Handell favors it. PM Kitty and she'll send you a sample. In fact I heard she has a thread in her forum showing some examples of the paintings folks have done on the samples.

We have a lot of fun here... :D Hope we see more of you and your work!

Deborah

Lisa Olivarez
09-14-2004, 10:01 PM