PDA

View Full Version : First acrylic painting...

zaftiggirl
09-14-2004, 05:06 PM
This is my first!!!! I painted this of my son. I am obviously not cut out for portraits... :wink2: I did do my best, but would love some C&C so I can revise, or do better next time!!!!!
L~
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/14-Sep-2004/49310-lavportrait.JPG

ree7
09-15-2004, 12:35 AM
hello,

i'm new here, so don't know how much help i will be. i was surprised that this was acrylic, the technique looks so much like pastels.

the one thing that jumps out at me, is the "floating head" syndrome, where there is no neck, nor shoulders to anchor the subject. perhaps the hint of neck and shirt collar might help?

might be fun for you to get crazy with the shading, loosen up a tad and just have fun with it. experiment with the color, shadow and contrast?

have fun!

ree

mooz49
09-15-2004, 03:23 AM
I am pretty new at this myself but I would think that for a first acrylic painting you have done very well. :clap: :clap:

zaftiggirl
09-15-2004, 05:40 AM
Thanks for the C&C! I do get the Floating head thing now...never occured to me before :o ! I will change that for sure!
Ree7 said " i was surprised that this was acrylic, the technique looks so much like pastels." Did I use the acrylics the wrong way? I do watercolors and was trying to Not mix in too much water because I didn't have too :p .
Please let me know how to use them properly, as I don't want it to look wrong! I did feel weird painting over the colors with lighter colors, as that is not done in watercolor. It was strange to use WHITE! LOL
Anyway, thanks again for the C&C, and please tell me more...I am just learning... :)

ExpressiveAngie
09-15-2004, 07:19 AM
I think it is a fine first portrait...I do believe that the more we do the better we get. Have you been to PORTRAITURE here...go visit and read some posts you will learn tons.

ree7
09-15-2004, 11:07 AM
zaftiggirl,