PDA

View Full Version : X-post, WIP-working title Ropin'

shirleyq
09-12-2004, 12:23 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/09-12-2004/11444_ropin_.jpg

I am looking for crits on this 12 x 16 monster..... :rolleyes: Acrylic on stretched linen canvas.

Do I work more on the shirt?

Do you see anything else?

shirleyq
09-12-2004, 12:28 AM
I seem to be having a hard time with uploading, hope this works...and my apologies. :)

Mike Finn
09-12-2004, 02:16 AM
Shirley....

I am just a beginner so "grain of salt" time. I like this enough for you to be my very first critique :)

Ok well I feel that the hips are a bit narrow and the point where the hand and rope meets the body sets up a tension point. Maybe just extend the hips slightly. I would like to see some subtle suggetstion of hoof prints in the sand. But apart from that leave it as is......... EXCELLENT. Oh maybe focus the camera a tad :)

Mike Finn

Eileenjm
09-12-2004, 02:59 AM
I can't really crit on this Shirley because I am not very good at painting people but I think it is lovely the way it is. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Eileen

shirleyq
09-12-2004, 07:58 PM
Hi Mike and Eileen. Thank you both for taking the time to look at this. :)

Mike I thought a great deal about what you mentioned regarding the hips but decided not to change them because he was a tall, lanky young man.

Here it is again with many changes.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Sep-2004/11444-Ropin9-12..jpg

ExpressiveAngie
09-12-2004, 08:04 PM
Oh my - how did I miss this earlier?!
Shirley its really beautiful - the fellow is intent and his focus unwavering ...just beautiful!

Vicki_Oz
09-12-2004, 08:41 PM
I really like this.....I love the colour combination!

Marty C
09-12-2004, 09:30 PM
Hi Shirley,
Nice use of complementaries. The composition is delicately balanced with a body tension which makes it seem as if the figure will move again at any second. Very good job.

sassybird
09-12-2004, 10:15 PM