PDA

View Full Version : New Seascape. (Kinda) opinions PLEASE!

Rosebudlr
09-11-2004, 11:33 PM
I got the idea from a pattern by Bill Blackman but I did some changes to it. It is 16x20 . It is called, "Out of the Mist". It sure looks pretty on my walls! Gee, what does one do with all your art work if you dont sell it? My walls are full! LOL! I just hate to part with them but I guess I should see if my skill is good enough and pleasing enough for others, eh? Anyway, all comments on this is greatly appreciated. You are all my inspirations here.

Vicki_Oz
09-12-2004, 02:38 AM
I like it!!......Ships aren't my thing but I can imagine standing on the rocks in my 'Victorian' garb watching this ship come in out of the mist. So in my humble opion.....you've done well.

As for painting for sale.....go for it.. I don't actually have anything I've painted on my walls.....I make my living from my art.....painting, teaching and my sideline.....'face painting'. So I need to sell.....I have my paintings in cafes, restaurants, shops...and now online......that might give you a few ideas.

Kind regards
Vicki

Artguy29
09-12-2004, 07:45 AM
This is beautiful, Leigh! You have done an excellent job capturing the mist. That ship is stunning; about how long did it take you? I noticed how you have kept your colors very smooth and blended; what type of paints did you use? Did you use any type of medium with them? It's truly amazing what you can do with acrylics. Outstanding :clap: :clap: :clap: !

Dave

ExpressiveAngie
09-12-2004, 09:30 AM
Moody and beautiful. :clap:

LarrySeiler
09-12-2004, 12:12 PM
the ship is well done, water....I find the rocks in the lower corner not working.

You definitely need a device because of the asymmetrical balance here of the ship high and left, but offering a small corner to rocks compositionally is distracting. IT suggests other narrative, but not enough..as a dark value is commanding, too much a visual voice.