PDA

View Full Version : Cheaper Peepers...pushing my envelope!

meowmeow
09-11-2004, 10:49 AM
I wne to Old Orchard Beach the other day with some painting friends. It was way more croded than we had expected and I have never done anythign like this before. It was overwhelming but good for me. I did some sketches, took some photos and went home. Never even opened the pastels.
Then I started working on this and I think it is finally at the point that it doesn't look like I was in the third grade when I did it. I have a lot of trouble when I have to add figures...but I want to be able to add figures to some of my scenes. Obviously something like this only works with people...unless you are doing a painting called Deserted Old Orchard Beach!
This is terra cotta art spectrum, about 11x14. THe colors are much richer and darker than they show, particularly the blues. It does actually look better in person but I know it is not done and in fact I will probably end up redoing it eventually...but I am looking for any suggestions and comments people have. I don't know why I have so much trouble with these....
I'm also not sure how to handle the ground, which is really brick in shades of bluish greys and reds.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/11-Sep-2004/15050-P1010001.JPG

Thanks for looking...and don't laugh too hard! :D

Sandy

MollyUnlimited
09-11-2004, 11:20 AM
I think this is looking really good! I love the atmosphere, when can I come visit????
The one person that sticks out to me is the man who is in profile, waving. His face seems a bit long or something. I find when doing portraits, that if I don't think of people as people or body parts as body parts (I particularly have to do this with hands and noses), then I can create a much better image. Think of him as a cup, or a bunch of grapes :D and see how you might change him. The other folks look great!