PDA

View Full Version : Restoration question

Pannet
10-21-2001, 01:48 PM
Can anyone tell me how/the best way to clean an oil painting? It's a oil portrait done years ago and was probably in storage for five or six so it's pretty dusty/dirty. I'd like to clean the canvas up and repaint the portrait (on the same canvas) - there's not a lot of paint on the canvas to begin with so I don't think that would be a problem - I used too much thinner when I did it so it's almost like an under painting!
Also there is about a 1/4 inch tear in the canvas - can that be repaired? Can I glue another piece of canvas on the back, behind the tear? Any suggestions appreciated!

Verdaccio
10-21-2001, 02:00 PM
Preface: I have never done this before, but....

Two options I know of: Gamblin makes an oil painting cleaner. Comes with instructions and should work very well. Or, you can just take some mildly soapy water in a very soft spunge and go lightly over the surface several times, then again with just water and let it air dry.

sandge
10-21-2001, 04:03 PM
More an oil painting question that portraiture. Moving this to the oils forum. :D

paintfool
10-21-2001, 06:15 PM
I would have to agree with Verdaccios advice on cleaning it and yes, to glue a piece of canvas to the back to repair the tear is probably the best way to handle it. Now we'd need someone more knowledgable to step in here and suggest the proper glue to use for this repair....rabbit skin maybe?
Cheryl

Leopoldo1
10-21-2001, 08:20 PM
Originally posted by Pannet
Also there is about a 1/4 inch tear in the canvas - can that be repaired? Can I glue another piece of canvas on the back, behind the tear? Any suggestions appreciated!

Pannet,

Make a mixture of equal parts of beeswax and venice turpentine, keeping mixture warm. Lay the piece face down on a solid surface. Cut a piece of linen larger than the tear for your patch. Unravel all 4 edges leaving it with threads protruding a 1/2 inch or more.