PDA

View Full Version : Acrylic Painting Techniques (beginner)(fine arts)

gibson99
09-03-2004, 07:31 PM
Hi, I am new to WC and New to Acrylic Painting. I have been drawing for a short while and decided to try my hand at painting. I love both. I have not taken any lessons yet ( I work full time) , but I am reading some good books on the subject. I have been looking at some of the art on this web sight and I must say I am very Impressed!
So my first question to any of you fine artists out there is one to do with shading. I am painting a lemon still life and I tried darkening the Cad lemon med with violet ( one of my books suggested that). I looks to red for me. I am trying for a darker or blacker shade towards the bottom of the lemons with the light on the top. any suggestions?

thanks in advance
John

Einion
09-03-2004, 08:31 PM
Hi John, welcome to WC! and the acrylic forum. Shading yellow is indeed a tricky thing to get right (possibly the most difficult colour in fact) and I know just what you're experiencing. Normally I would ask for the specific colours you have and are using but there are some simple fixes for this type of mixing problem that don't require this so I'll go that route as these are good basics to know for future reference.

Firstly, when shading yellows in general, because violets are so dark in value they quickly overpower the yellow and darken the mix too quickly for the halftone areas (the area between the lit side and the actual shadow, technically called the penumbra). Try mixing white with the violet you're using so that it's the same value as the yellow to begin with. This sounds odd, adding white into a shadow mix, but you're starting with a very light-valued colour to begin with so the halftones are not that dark. Try it and you'll see it works quite well and additionally the reddish colour will be reduced when you add white to the mix.