PDA

View Full Version : Acrylic medium?

mooz49
09-02-2004, 02:21 AM
I have been painting with acrylics for about 2 years now and I read somewhere on this site about using a glossy medium to make acrylic painting easier .............. do any of you use a medium for this reason?

gnu
09-02-2004, 04:13 AM
I used to, but not anymore because I use a knife and need it thick!
depends on the effect you need...it does strange things to the surface sometimes..I found water would actually wipe off the previous layer(perhaps I used too much gloss..) I quit using it because of this..
I suggest you try finding a paint with the right consistency in preference to adding gloss medium, it's cheaper too..
try a few things though, it can ba a personal choice

quinacridonemagenta
09-02-2004, 05:42 AM
i use Golden's acylic glazing compound. i wouldn't say that it makes painting easier, it just makes it different. it comes with its own set of problems (ie, overuse or not allowing enough drying time will make it peel).

for the most part i use it when i'm blending in more subtle areas, or areas that i need the canvas to take up a different texture (the bare canvas stains, which is what i want for some purposes but not all.). the last painting on my webpage was done with very little glazing compound, but the Black Eyed Susan was. you can see the difference better in person.

Enchanted
09-02-2004, 08:50 AM
I have been painting with acrylics for about 2 years now and I read somewhere on this site about using a glossy medium to make acrylic painting easier .............. do any of you use a medium for this reason?

One of the 'basics' when painting with acrylics is to avoid too much 'thinning' or 'dilution' using only water, unless you're deliberately working in a 'watercolor style.' For example: I'd use only water if using acrylics on watercolor paper. But on canvas I use mostly medium. But using the medium instead of water isn't going to make anything "easier" - I don't think.

Artguy29