PDA

View Full Version : HELP with "Summer's End"

Paula Ford
09-01-2004, 10:46 PM
Hi All, Would you please help me with this...the water in my reference picture has a slant to it just like I've done it here. For some reason, my eye does not like this. What do you think?

(Please don't look at any other portionof the painting...I just roughly sketched it.)

Thank you!!
Paula
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/01-Sep-2004/1978-summersendforwc.jpg

Kathryn Day
09-01-2004, 11:15 PM
Hi Paula,
Yes, the water at the left as we are looking at it, appears to go uphill. Maybe make your pastel strokes more blended there, so the water will look more level? I don't know what I am doing most of the time, but thought I would give it a shot. lol Love the trees in the background! Ignore me if you get more experienced answers. :rolleyes:

pjo
09-01-2004, 11:54 PM
Hi Paula, I am a rank amateur with water, so take this with a grain of salt, but the water ripples do seem to change to a sharper angle near the shore. I love the rich color of this though, and how the warm reflections are stated further back.

prestonsega
09-02-2004, 12:22 AM
initial impression of the painting was "Ooooooo!,Wow"..nice. As to the water, remember cameras have a tendancy to distort. Go with what you know about painting and finish this end of summer beauty. :clap:

emmachester
09-02-2004, 01:05 AM
Paula--I am also no water expert, but my eye says that the water isn't 'flat.' There is the illusion that the water dips down behind the boat, but of course the plane of the water surface should be flat.

Even though you said not to, I looked at other parts, and I have to say that the boat is superb. You've captured the look of evening light falling on the boat and the ground.

Very good start.

Sherry

Paula Ford
09-02-2004, 01:28 AM
Thanks everybody for the GREAT advise.

Here is an update photo
More C&C please.

Thank you, Paula

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Sep-2004/1978-boat2forwc.jpg