PDA

View Full Version : Children's Illustrations

piper2
09-01-2004, 01:12 PM
Hi everyone. I haven't made as much use of wetcanvas as I should of, so I'm still relatively new at this. My question is this. All of you guys seem to know what you're talking about, so tell me seriously if I could pursue children's book illustration, based on what my work looks like . . . tell me what I need to work on. I trust you guys!

larsnip
09-01-2004, 01:51 PM
I don't know much about childrens illustration, but here's a link to a guy that does it and his style is similar to yours.
http://www.ronaldchironna.com/
I'm sure if you emailed him he would be happy to talk to you, he's heck of a nice guy.

Dave

piper2
09-01-2004, 01:59 PM
Thanks, larsnip . . . he's really good. I feel humbled! I sent him an e-mail, though, so perhaps he will have some gems of wisdom.

JayD
09-01-2004, 02:15 PM
There is a neat book you should check into as well. It is part of the Barron's ALL ABOUT series called Techniques in Illustration. It covers a general overview of illustrative techniquess for artist including, Pastel, colored pencil, airbrush, pen and ink, collage and so on. There are projects for each style. Hope this helps.

piper2
09-01-2004, 02:24 PM
You guys are both very helpful, but so far everyone's artfully avoided telling me if I'm any good or not. I do have a bunch of works on illustration, but they all advise having an outside party consider your work before you submit it to publishers. My family and friends are definitely biased, so I can't rely on what they say!

Please, be brutally honest!

JayD
09-01-2004, 02:43 PM