PDA

View Full Version : Burgundy Wine Red

djstar
10-19-2001, 12:11 AM
Forgive me for not stopping in here much, but I am starting to do my homework.
The best thing about being a born again self-taught, is that I can hold nobody responsible for my bad habits or give credit to any small stroke of genius I may show.

Now I come to the cross roads of independence and am about to actually put it on the line and participate in the workshop.
Looking over my SUGGESTED paints, I am about to go into debt -which I am fully prepared to do, it is pretty dumb to not avail myself of every bit of wisdom I can get my hands on, but, as this is the one that stopped me dead - please explain what makes Old Holland so cool and what the advantage is over the usual and normal names, like Aliz. Crimson and Rose Madder.... the ones that DON'T sound like decorator colors but DO sound like color wheel stuff.
This is not smart ssy, it is sticking my toe in where it belongs, not skipping along the side of the pond!
Thanks
dj*

bruin70
10-20-2001, 03:10 AM
old holland is a brand name, like windsor/newton. old holland has a higher pigment ratio than other brands. .....{M}

djstar
10-20-2001, 09:12 PM
I had pretty much figured that out.
What I was interested in was what (as it appears to me) the real benefit of a pre-mixed color is for ditzy students like me trying to get paint onto canvas.
My assumption is that it will be like pastels where you have JUST the right color there and your job is to look for it.

I must admit I am struggling to get out from that "You-Can-Mix-Any-Color-With-The-Right-Primaries" head set, but CAN I MIX ANY COLOR WITH THE RIGHT PRIMARIES?

I must say, it is the BURGUNDY part that is getting me.
I have all these reds and they are a bit like a plague. The ones I have now are so intense and dense, it seems the LAST thing I need in that arena are HIGHER pigmented tubes...

Just me.