PDA

View Full Version : My first pastel attempt

mzshodan
08-30-2004, 10:43 PM
Hi Everyone, my name's Jenni and I'm new to soft pastels. I've been following this forum for a little while, trying to get some hints and tips along the way before I started. I usually do graphite and charcoal portraits, I've dabbled a little bit in watercolour but really wanted to try my hand at pastels. I bought a set of micador pastels and used my A3 arches watercolour paper for this rose. I chose this particular subject as I didnt want to be overloaded with colour on my first attempt. I needed something that I could use to practice technique more than anything to start off with (if you know what I mean). I would appreciate any comments or critiques.

Jenni

SweetBabyJ
08-30-2004, 11:09 PM
Hi Jenni- welcome to the dusty side. Good-looking rose there- I don't know the brand of pastels you're using, though. S'okay- you cannot ever have enough colours, and soon you'll be buying stick after stick like a seasoned pro. Nice delicate touch, it looks like- is the paper showing through as your white? Darks and greens are difficult sometimes; but they seem much easier once you have LOTS more colours. Well, I lie- but that's the excuse we use for buying more and more and more....

mzshodan
08-30-2004, 11:39 PM
Thanks SweetbabyJ, I think the pastel brand is just a cheapie but I thought that was safer to try to see if I like it or not. Yes thats the paper showing through as my white, guess thats the drawer in me lol. After reading your comment it occured to me that my paper is offwhite and I've got white pastels so why the hell didnt I use them lol. Ah well, all part of the learning process I guess. With the greens I really couldnt see the leaves in the reference, but new that they were there so I used a dark green then highlighted slightly with a light green and stopped before I ruined it completely.

Thanks for the comments, I'm going to enjoy hanging over at the "dusty side"

Jenni