PDA

View Full Version : Brush Brand, favorites and why.

Silent Jaguar
08-29-2004, 01:33 AM
I'm looking for opinions on Acrylic Brush Brands. I live about 150 miles away from an actual art store. Thus, have no way of testing the brushes and have to rely on my knowlege and experience while purchasing brushes online. I realize brushes are varied for different techniques, however, your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
My preferences are: No visible brush strokes, able to glaze, the brush has to be medium (not too hard or too soft) and very durable.
Thank you for your time.

Mike Finn
08-29-2004, 01:52 AM
Anawanita..

Firstly let me say I am a beginner...

I was using Golden Nylon and Taklon brushes and still do BUT I purchased 4 interlocked hog bristle brushes recently and SUDDENLY my painting has improved... my opinion only :) I am NOT trying to hide the strokes 'cause I like to see them and I haven't got to glazing as yet but NOW I can put onto canvas what I visualize..... Just thought I'd mention it.

Mike Finn

Silent Jaguar
08-29-2004, 02:04 AM
Do you know the brand name, I don't think it's illegal to mention in these forums.

Mike Finn
08-29-2004, 02:19 AM
Do you know the brand name, I don't think it's illegal to mention in these forums.

Sure do... "Art Spectrum", filberts, I'll get a couple of large flats soon. Long handles, clean up easily and hold much more paint than the synthetics. Here's a link to Dick Blick to peruse ..
http://www.dickblick.com/zz052/24/products.asp?param=0&ig_id=425

Mike Finn

quinacridonemagenta
08-29-2004, 06:00 AM
Jack Richeson series 7530, i use the size 12 flat only.

i LOVE my brush because.....i've had it for well over four years and it is still in excellent shape. the handle shows a lot of wear, but so what....its the bristles that count. this brush can still give me a precise razor edge line on its tips. i have even scrumbled with this brush, and it just bounces back.