PDA

View Full Version : New to pastels - WIP after Waterhouse

eponaluna
08-25-2004, 02:16 PM
I'm really an oil painter and have very little experience with pastels. I broke out a chocolate pastel pencil and a white stick to do this last night though. It is a copy of a chalk study for Lady Clare by Waterhouse. I know the likeness isn't exact, but I had fun with the medium. Does anyone have any pointers or tips?
Thanks,
Cara

Dyin
08-25-2004, 06:47 PM
Hi Cara...everyone here is off to Expo in Santa Fe so even though my medium is the oil side of pastels I thought I'd come comment :) You did a lovely job for being so limited on medium. You have a nice start on tone and nice directional strokes, I think you might like pastels and if you want to explore a little further you could try a starter set of Rembrandts, they're not expensive and will give you an idea of how good pastels work. There's a classroom sticky for soft pastels at the top of the threads, and also more in the library soft pastel index. This is usually a good forum for feedback so hope you'll think about continuing. Usually a 3/4 pose is hard to do and you did an excellent job with the alignment, you might want to soften the hard edge against the hair a little, but other than that I think you've done a wonderful job for a first time try.

Dark_Shades
08-25-2004, 07:00 PM
Well lol, not quite everyone is away :)
..... I always think this sort of limited palette has great effect and appeal, especially with portraits, it also has a soft colour which works well to .... well done, ..... you have got a nice tone on the face giving it shape.... the only suggestion I might have is to check the eye on viewers right, I know its at an angle, but seems a bit small and dark.....
its looking good, and has a lovely feel, so hope you will progress with this one

.... well done

K Taylor-Green
08-25-2004, 10:47 PM
Yeah, I'm stuck at home, too.