PDA

View Full Version : Always one eye open

windyowl
08-23-2004, 10:13 AM
Hello All, I am new to WetCanvas! but have been reading some of the forums. I have been painting since highschool but have not taken any serious steps. I just submitted for my first juried show and wanted to get some feedback on the piece. Let me know what you think all feedback is welcomed.

the Piece is a 7X9 1/2 inch Acrylic on paper

jnet11
08-23-2004, 11:48 AM
i like your forms a lot, and the color on the woman, but the background seems a bit underworked compared to her ...

good luck on your juried exhibition, and welcome to the forum!

windyowl
08-23-2004, 01:03 PM
thanks Jnet!

it's hard to see in the pic but the painting is very watery almost like a wash. good feedback on the background. i'll remember that for next time.

Tamana
08-23-2004, 05:35 PM
:wave: and welcome!! I agree about the form and color; however, it's the centeredness (even with that leg) that disturbs me, and perhaps the space over the head.

Best of on your juried show!!

themanda
08-23-2004, 06:24 PM
good luck on your show!

love the choices of color here. the face seems somehow too fine for the rest of the figure...i'd like the features to be a bit more coarse or something.

Mirek Sledz
08-23-2004, 11:17 PM
Hey! I think that background colour fit very well to this yellow woman.
Always when I have trouble connect colours then I use Delacroix theory
which liked successfully Van Gogh yellow - violet , red-green,
blue-orange :)

windyowl
08-24-2004, 07:24 AM
Thanks Tam, it is a bit on center which I don't normally do. It just happened.

Amanda, I see what you mean about the face. it is a bit odd. course or more gestural would have been more interesting. I'll try that next time.

Mirek, never heard of Delacroix theory. color is just so important to me. I think it speaks volumes.