PDA

View Full Version : Help with Pricing

tiger1
08-22-2004, 03:54 PM
Hi, sorry I don't have a picture, (my scanner is outdated for my newer computer and I don't have a digital camera yet!) but I really need help pricing an item. Please keep in mind I am just starting out and live in an area of the U.S that isn't as well off as average and prices tend to be lower here. My necklace is selling in a relatives store on a route traveled by tourists often. Thsi store has not sold jewerly before, but does have a case and sells fine crafts like woodworked things and apples. (As theres an orchard there.) The necklace is a pendant, a lanscape bead that came out very nicely in shape and form with trees and moon, dichro stars (lampworked by me). The pendant is about 3/4 an inxh tall and less than half wide. I used some goldfilled and sterling silver beads to set it, and its crimped in the middle of some black accuflex. I took a lot of time on the bead as I work on a Hothead torch and put a lot of detail and colors in the bead. Materials together I think cost me $11.75 and I probably spent 1 to 1 and half hours on the whole peice. How would you price this? I don't want it to be too high because i want it to sell, and plus my family ( who don't have that much idea of jewerly and handmade glass beads prices.) have the idea that all my prices I come up with are way to high. But I am afraid of selling too low as well because I really want to make this a good business and be able to pay for my kiln, torch glass, supplies etc. Also I don't want to hurt other lampworkers who sell higher just because I made some stupid pricing mistakes! These landscape necklaces will hopefully be a popular item in this certain store because they go with the stores theme and I think would appeal to the customers that are there, and also happen to be something I very much enjoy making. They are also one of a kind very unique items as are most all lampworked beads. This is the first real store I am going