PDA

View Full Version : new member questions

Marge Cline
08-22-2004, 11:39 AM
Hi. I can't begin to tell you how happy I am to find this site. Was thinking about taking a class this fall, but should be able to find help here I'm thinking. Besides a housebound husband (severe emphysema) keeps me pretty close to home these days. I am pretty much self taught, but have taken a few classes over the years. Have worked with acryllics, ink drawings, pencil portraits and then discovered pastels. Wow what gorgeuos colors one can achieve with these; I'm hooked now. Have a question.. Can anyone share ideas on how to store pastel paintings when not wanting to frame them for the time being. I don't want to fix them, I tried that once and was really unhappy :mad: Yet I cant think of an efficient yet safe way to keep them from smearing. Any ideas will be much appreciated. I will post my current WIP for comment asap. Nice to meetcha all. Marge Cline :wave:

SweetBabyJ
08-22-2004, 11:53 AM
If they are small, you can tear the pages from glossy magazines out and lay them in-between the paintings. Glassine is good for larger pieces- it's a very thin, light, static-free paper, kinda like waxed paper, but not quite. I buy glassine in 5 yard swatches and that saves time and money. Then, just stack them up- I go large to small- and lay them on a flat surface (under the bed is good, unless you have lively dust bunnies).

Someone was experimenting with these new-fangled "glassine envelopes" but I don't recall who, or whether or not it worked; I suppose if you buy glassine by the yard, it'd be easy enough to fashion your own.

Welcome- glad you found us, look forward to seeing your work, and if you've any questions, just ask. We have ALLLL the answers- sometimes we even make sure they match your question!

K Taylor-Green
08-22-2004, 12:01 PM
Welcome to pastels!! You have come to the right place for any artistic help you may need. I store mine as Julie (SBJ) does.