PDA

View Full Version : bead embroidery

Emjay
08-20-2004, 11:00 PM
I would like to try bead embroidery. Does anyone do this? Any good "how to" books, tutorials or links? I l LOVE this piece!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/20-Aug-2004/11303-moongate.jpg

sassybird
08-20-2004, 11:22 PM
I used to make costumes for strippes back in the 70's. I have done a lot of beading and sequin work. I am self taught out of necessity. I make up my own stitches and learn others by looking at other peoples work. I am getting ready to do the back, shoulder's and wrists of a light weight jacket. If you have done embroidery work then you will pick up on beading pretty fast. I never pick up more than 4 beads at a time on my needle and work them as I would any other stitch.

McDuck
08-20-2004, 11:25 PM
Jean, that is lovely! I cant wait to see what you create. and Charissa, I hope you share with us later!

mary

TheBlueBetween
08-21-2004, 02:23 AM
Jean, I love that too! Quilting Arts magazine sometimes has GREAT eye candy like this - though I don't remember any how-to's. http://www.quiltingarts.com/

You could scan through here for their book recomendations....
http://www.quiltingarts.com/shop/books1.html

:) Pam

rubyfan2
08-21-2004, 06:49 AM
Jean,
Two authors might interest you...Nancy Eha and Robin Atkin. Both have books and both have websites. Beaded Embroidery is their specialty.

www.beadcreative.com - Nancy Eha's website I believe

I can't locate Robin Atkin's website right now...I know she lives on an island in the WA...

Robin's book is available at Amazon.
Nancy's book is self published and on her website.

Both tend to teach at Quilt and Crazy Quilt conferences and both are scheduled for the Quilt Festival in Houston in November. (Check Quilts.com for that information.)

There are others as well that might interest you...Judith Baker Montano does significant beadwork mixed with ribbon and patchwork. She too is a published author...www.judithbakermontano.com