PDA

View Full Version : Sunflowers Galore

emmachester
08-20-2004, 01:59 AM
This is my first time posting my pictures. I'm relatively new to pastels and am still learning the ropes.

I'd appreciate feedback on composition--this is the area I need the most help.

Two sunflowers--9x12 Colourfix paper (not my favorite paper.)
Three sunflowers--9x12 Wallis paper (this IS my favorite paper.)

Thanks for taking the time.

Sherry

Kathryn Wilson
08-20-2004, 08:32 AM
Hi Emma - Welcome to the Pastel Forum! Thanks for sharing these two paintings with us - if these are any indication of your work, then you are getting along very well with pastels. Very nice!

A comment on the composition - I like the second better because the painting is more balanced with three - if you had another smaller sunflower in the first, I think you'd see what I mean. I also think that if you put in more lights and darks, especially on your focal point flowers, that would punch up the paintings more. Focal point being one of the flowers that you want the viewer to see more than the others.

Hope that helps!

Deborah Secor
08-20-2004, 11:16 AM
Hi Sherry--glad you're joining us!

I agree with you and Kat, the second one is far stronger. I love the way you've given such character to these three, as if one is friendly, one is arrogant and one is shy! ;) The light and shadow in this one is stronger too, which makes it a stronger compostion, and the focal point in this one is clearly the 'friendly' flower, mostly because the face is looking right at us. Your palette is pleasing and sunny and your rendering is nice.

Which isn't to totally dismiss the first one, as it's a pleasant piece for a number of reasons, too! I love the way you've scumbled colors into the background. I agree, a third flower would make this more successful.

These are a wonderful start in pastels and I hope you keep going and show us more of your work!!

Deborah

bnoonan
08-20-2004, 11:52 AM