PDA

View Full Version : Kinks in Leather Cord

GraceGirl
08-15-2004, 04:58 PM
Hello everyone;
I am brand new to Wet Canvas and almost brand new to the world of lampwork :D
I have a quick question about leather cord - I bought some in bulk and am finding that it has a lot of kinks in it. Any suggestions for removing the kinks so it will look nice and lay flat on the neck?
GraceGirl

Gingerbiscuit
08-15-2004, 05:57 PM
I'm sorry I can't help you with your question Grace, but I can extend a warm welcome to WC! You will like it here a lot! I'm sure that one of these talented ladies (or gentlemen, sorry!) will be able to help you. :)

froggee501
08-15-2004, 06:22 PM
what does steaming do to leather cord? if nothing bad, then it might take out the kinks... that's just a guess from the top of my head, though...

Emma

LadyArowana
08-15-2004, 11:57 PM
Hi Grace, weclome to WC. I have never had to straighten a leather thong, but have flattened a small piece of tanned hide. I soaked it in water till it was softer and then stretched and tacked it with drawing pins to a board and let it dry. I would do a test run with a piece first as you may get colour running/ watermarking type problems, you also need pins that won't leave rust marks. Fiona

Iona
08-18-2004, 07:02 PM
Try pulling it back and forth over a pantsleg or a smooth rounded corner like a kitchen counter and see if that helps. You don't want to wear the color off if it is dyed. Try to hold it tight with both hands. Iona

carebear
08-26-2004, 08:58 AM
I had the same problem...I held the cord by my blow dryer, to warm it up a bit, and then held both ends tightly, and ran it back and forth across my leg (yes, this does take 3 hands, so make sure to borrow a pair!)
it straightened out the cord really well...