PDA

View Full Version : How to frame pastel - new at this

pierak
08-13-2004, 10:24 PM
Hello,
I am new to pastel; I am taking a class, and I have just finished my first pastel painting, a red-eyed tree frog. I am falling in love with this medium, the brilliance of the colors is just amazing!
I would like to ask the experts some questions about how pastel should be framed. I like to work on ampersand pastelbord. Here is what I would like to do, but I do not know if it is possible:
I would like to spray the finished painting with an acrylic permanent fixative, such as, for example, Krylon 1311. Then, I would like to be able to frame the painting without glass, just as I would an oil painting. I hate the idea of framing behind glass, I think it does not do justice to the brilliance of the colors.
Is this possible, or am I crazy?
Do any of you put a permanent fixative on your pastels? If so, what do you use? I read somewhere that framing under glass is to protect the pastels from flaking or smearing, but that pastels are one of the most permanent media.
Any thoughts? Help would be greately appreciated!
Thanks.

Deborah Secor
08-14-2004, 12:10 AM
Piera, nice to meet you and your question is a good one--however, the best answer I have to give is "NO" you can't spray it with Krylon and frame it because once the spray coats and permeates the pastels those brilliant colors will be pure, dingy mud. The fixative or spray will become a glue that bonds the pastel pigments to the board, darkening all the colors significantly.

I once created a large panel somewhat similar to the Pastelbord and sprayed my finished pastel with lacquer. I had to do a lot of experiments with the various colors to find out how light to paint it, so that when I sprayed it didn't become too dark. I found that the yellows virtually disappeared and the blues were almost as bad. For some reason the oranges and greens were better. Purples became black.