PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Sew? Can you recommend a machine?

earthenwood
08-13-2004, 08:33 AM
I am very new to sewing, I just took the first part of my second class last night. I have been working on pillows...not wearables yet, but I am interested in making some bags perhaps to sell and some vests for me personally. I was looking at the sewing machines last night and there are so many options. I think I want something simple, not too $$$ (under $300) and something that will hold up to upholstery materials well and perhaps do a nice button hole. Not too fancy...don't know what to do with all those stiches...

Any recommendations, and where is a good place to buy one? Can I get a decent one on sale at Joann Fabric, ya think?

LadyArowana
08-13-2004, 09:29 AM
I have a Bernina, which I am very happy with. When I was shopping for one (early 2000) a friend who does a lot of sewing recommended that brand or Pfaff. I couldn't find extra feet etc easily for the Pfaff brand near where I lived then, so I went with the other. The Bernina website is www.berninausa.com and Pfaff is www.pfaffusa.com .
If you think you are going to be doing more complicated things in the future, it might be worth getting a machine that is a little more sophisticated than you need right now, rather than buying a basic machine and then wanting a few more features later.
Also come November/ December time they often run holiday promotions, so you might get a better deal. Also some places offer to give free lessons with the purchase of a machine, which can be very useful.
Another option is a reconditioned machine if you have a dealer nearby. Sometimes people trade in and you can get a good deal on one, but you need to make sure you get some warranty coverage from the dealer.
I think a lot of the machines now are very good so you will probably get lots of different views ! Fiona

Nolly
08-13-2004, 10:43 AM
Here's what I gleaned from Consumer Reports: