PDA

View Full Version : 1st commission

ARTeries
10-12-2001, 04:49 PM
Hi, everyone. . . I'm a relatively new artist. Here is my first commissioned piece. It is soft pastel on Ersta paper. 11x17. It is a ranch style home converted to office space for a dental practice. This image is not as bright as the actual painting, but here it is. . .

http://www.absolutearts.com/portfolio3/a/arteries/The_Practice-1002904235.jpg

Let me know what you think. Any beginning business tips are appreciated! :)

Thanks,

ARTeries

LDianeJohnson
10-12-2001, 07:55 PM
ARTeries

Did you post this painting or a preliminary version of this somewhere? I think I have seen this office before. Please refresh my memory if you did. I remember it well...

This final piece appears to have a greater sense of richness and depth than when I last saw it. Nice detailing as well. And the lighted tree tops on the left are beautifully done.

Good job...I know they will enjoy this!

Diane

ARTeries
10-12-2001, 09:59 PM
Thank you for your encouraging words, Diane.

Yes, you have seen it before; I almost had it completed for the cafe's Summer show in August.

Thank you for commenting.

ARTeries

dawnlee
10-15-2001, 05:50 AM
:) your painting is great! i've been wanting to get into home-house portraits but couldn't figure out how to go about it with pastels. are there any specific aides you used or any thing you may reccomend?

ARTeries
10-15-2001, 09:17 AM
Dawnlee,

You will not believe this, but I read your profile. I am also a pastel artist, stay at home mom, and Registered Nurse! When people ask me what I do, that is my "catch all" phrase.

As for the painting of the house, the home is actally located in my hometown, so I am familiar w/ the building. I worked from photos of the building that I had taken as well as the client's because I am out of state.