PDA

View Full Version : Ack! Finding QUALITY Plastic Pearls?!

Hiway
07-30-2004, 02:38 PM
Hi there!

I am doing repair work on several pieces of vintage jewellery and fashion jewellery for someone. She has now asked me to lengthen and 'jazz up' a graduated triple strand 'pearl' necklace (the lower strand had broken; several pearls are missing).

This piece dates back to around 1952 -1954. I have never worked with plastic beads before (doubt I ever will again, either!) but this necklace is from Birk's and carried a retail price of $65 back then. [The name "Birk's" may only mean something to Canadian WCers; it is a family jewellery, fine china and silver services store that has been around for almost 100 years.... until now, I had thought they had only carried estate and seriously expensive jewellery.]

My problem: I've searched the web like mad trying to find quality plastic pearl beads; the very few places that I've come across require that you order in huge volume. Does anyone here know of a place that has these items available in smaller quantities.... perhaps fifty or less? It looks like I need 6mm in a white cream shade (closer to white).

I'm so sorry to bother you, but I really like this person and would love to be able to do this for her.

All my best,

Claudia

Oskadis
07-30-2004, 02:58 PM
Hiyas, sent you a PM.

Hope it helps you.

Greetings

Karen

TheBlueBetween
07-30-2004, 04:42 PM
do they have to be plastic? What about Swarovski Crystal Pearls?

http://www.artbeads.com/swarovski-5810.html

Hiway
07-30-2004, 05:56 PM
do they have to be plastic? What about Swarovski Crystal Pearls?

http://www.artbeads.com/swarovski-5810.html

Hi there, Pam!

Oh yes, they absolutely have to be plastic, as she wants all the original components of her necklace plus some additions to "jazz it up" (her term!)