PDA

View Full Version : Oil Pastel Classroom August 2004-Learning to Paint Clouds with Oil Pastels

Dyin
07-30-2004, 10:02 AM
This month there's been a request for techniques on cloud painting. I am fairly new to doing landscapes myself so I did a little research and then tried a couple demos.
Here are some general tips on painting clouds that I found on about.com which should help.

1. Clouds aren't pure white, they reflect the color of the sky. This is clearest at sunrise and sunset, when clouds turn shades of yellow, red, and pink. They also have pieces of shadow in them.

2. Similarly, skies aren't simply blue. They're build up of various tones of blue. Experiment by adding colors such as ochre and crimson to your blues.

3. Don't try to paint every detail in clouds. Simplify the surface details, concentrating on pattern.

4. Learn to identify the different types of cloud as each has its own characteristics. Don't simply paint generic clouds. For example, cumulus (thunderstorm) clouds have some hard edges to them.

5. Take photos of different types of clouds at different times of day to create a reference portfolio. Label each clearly.

6. Remember that the rules of perspective apply to clouds. As they recede towards the horizon, their colors become paler and their shapes less distinct.

Here also is a reference to Craig Houghton’s cloud project from awhile back with more info on cloud types.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/Projects/index.php?cmd=view_details&proj_id=513

I’ve also found two reference pics from the library for our cloud studies. What I’d like us to do is several cloud studies using these, our own pics or actual sky clouds and post our various tries. They don’t have to be completely developed paintings, this is just to familiarize ourselves with the various ways that clouds are formed and how to paint them in oil pastels. I’ve taken a large sheet of watercolor paper and cut it into four smaller pieces. I used ½ a sheet for this first demo.