PDA

View Full Version : I think I fail at...

Mikki Petersen
07-29-2004, 02:31 AM
Hi all! I started to put this in the scumble but then thought it should be a separate discussion. Lately, as I view the posted works, I find that I see many paintings as very well done, but in reading the critiques, there are obvious (to others) flaws. When I go back after reading the critique, I can see what is being addressed and sometimes it seems really important to the success of the work. Other times, I see what is being discussed but it does not seem like anything wrong.

This brings me to wonder about my own work. I'm self taught and definitely a novice with much to learn yet. If I cannot see the problem areas in another's work, how can I possibly expect to get my own paintings done well?

Another question: Often the critique is to quote a standard guideline, a general rule. While often true and essential to a painting's harmony, do people just look to see if all the rules are met? Maybe in some paintings the rule is bent but it does not matter?

This musing comes from several days of looking and basicly commenting with "ooohs" and "aaahs" while everyone else is saying adjust this or move that or crop (I cringe at that) of half of it or...you know what I mean. Anyway, I want critique of my work because it is part of the learning experience. I wonder though if I am holding up my end of the bargain. Can I be a cheerleader and you all be the tacticians?

Some of this is the result of looking over some of my older photos and seeing things I would like to paint but being unsure how to approach them. For example, I just scanned in photos from a vacation about five years ago to the Grand Canyon and Bryce and Zion. The following photo of Bryce is very compelling to me but I cannot begin to figure out the compositional do's and don'ts. Can you?

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Jul-2004/14550-scan0263_2.jpg

1. Is this a paintable subject?