PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on Color

djdedman
10-08-2001, 09:43 AM
Looking at the dew on morning grass or the sparkle from the sun glittering like diamonds on the lake behind my house.
HELP, what color can I use to capture the this "sparkle?"
I tried spattering with white, doesn't work.
Thanks
DJ:confused:

Midwest Painter
10-08-2001, 02:06 PM
You may want to consider offsetting the highlights with darker colors. Where you put the light, place a dark right next to it.

CarlyHardy
10-08-2001, 11:35 PM
You could try using your acrylics like transparent watercolor and layer colors. When you have an underpainting of lt. yellow and paint over it with a transparent color..the sun appears to shine thru.
Creating value with lights and darks also will help.
carly

djdedman
10-09-2001, 09:07 AM
Thanks for your suggestions, maybe I'm just getting ahead of myself. LOL I am a beginner and starting to notice colors, shadows etc. and want to try all of it like I'm an old pro.
Practice, Practice, Practice!! LOl
Thanks again.
DJ
:D

LDianeJohnson
10-09-2001, 05:35 PM
Hi dj,

Depending on what level of detail you are trying to achieve and what colors surround the area where the "sparkle" will go will determine what to use.

Generally, white is the last thing to use, after you have used other colors that directly reflect the actual light that is glinting on the water. The water acts like a mirror at times and can dazzle the eye with it's movement. You are trying to capture this movement on a static painting. It can be done fairly easily...it's using the right color in the right amount in the right place and with the right shape. Sometimes pure white is appropriate, but can generally make for cool, dull water, rather than the highlights you're trying to achieve.