PDA

View Full Version : Please critique...ready for ebay?

manda j
07-18-2004, 12:05 AM
Hi-
I posted these in the Sat show and tell, but will try with a new thread. I am thinking of trying these (as separate items) on ebay. Wonder if they are "good enough"? and what a starting price should be. I'd appreciate any advice or comments. I am using a scanner, so the picture could be better I guess. Thanks, 'manda

MegannsMom
07-18-2004, 12:36 AM
Hi there! While I am still pretty new to lampwork, I am NOT new to beads; yours are very pretty! I really like the rainbow effect of the first set. The second and fourth sets utilize my favorite color combination, and the color and unique shape of that third one is beautiful! The only problem I have with any of them is in the second set; the two little spacers don't match, colorwise. Looks like you got a little more reaction out of the ivory in that one on the left. I am VERY (translate into TOO) picky about that kind of thing, so take what I say with a grain of salt. Otherwise, I would say, as long as they have been properly annealed, they are ready to take a leap into the 'BAY! Price-wise, I really couldn't tell you...I have seen beads start out at 99 cents and go up to $300! But I wouldn't take the chance, if I were you. I would say anywhere from $3 to $5 per bead for the smaller beads, maybe $5 to $8 for the larger? Just a suggestion...someone else here could help you out about pricing lampwork beads better than I. Good luck with your auction!I am sure you will do well!
~Cindy

Beth Myers
07-18-2004, 01:13 AM
Amanda,
You have a gift for small details.
These are very good starter beads. You have an excellent eye for color.
However, these are several looks that have been done so often before.
Yes, they are popular and you've done a good job (maybe watch for "undercuts" around your dots) they are not unique in design.