PDA

View Full Version : Mountain Cougar

jyvonne
07-12-2004, 02:19 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-12-2004/43486_flipped.JPG

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-12-2004/43486_july2004_531.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Mountain Cougar
Year Created: 2004
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 11x14
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I am new to painting all together... this is my third animal painting. I used a cougar from the image library as a reference and added a mountain background. I've worked about 20 hours on this and feel a bit frustrated. I still need to finish ears and whiskers. Also, now that I have shot a photo of it, I am noticing a weird "line" below the ear that I will be balancing the color out with.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Basically, I am having trouble getting the proper fur texture and the coloring and need some help and suggestions. When I made the color of the cougar more like the photo, the picture looked dull and boring. I added some sienna tones to it... now does it seem too bold??? Also, though the photo is more blurred on the animal's back, would it help me to add more fur detail on it?

Something just seems off to me in this picture. I'd love any of your suggestions in improving it.

Thank you.
Jyvonne

cotopaxi_annie
07-12-2004, 02:46 PM
Hi There!

What a great subject to paint! When I try something like that, I really feel under the gun to do it justice, as I am sure you do.

Another Artist Friend once told me to "Paint What I See, Not What I Know Is There". That was hard to understand at first but it really works.