PDA

View Full Version : Tracing Question

Anodyne
07-07-2004, 02:51 PM
Since im a fantasy artist I decided this was the best place to ask my question. How do you feel about tracing? I have recently traced a model from a reference picture, mostly just an outline, no shading, it was just to get the right shape and form. I wasnt going for realism, I just wanted a better and faster way to get the basic faery shape. If i came across a question like this my first response would be do anything you have to do for the project youre working on. I know ive basically answered my own question, but id still like to know how others feel about this.

-Sonia =^.^=

alfredart
07-07-2004, 03:20 PM
Sonia, there's really nothing wrong with tracing to get your work laid out and started. It is much faster and saves alot of erasing. A lot of people use light tables or tracing to do a layout. It's not that you've traced a fugure it's what ya do with it after that. Besides after you trace for awhile you'll be able to draw a fugure without tracing. It will come more natural for you.

Peae,
AL

Elankat
07-07-2004, 03:39 PM
Hey Sonia. :)

This is a question that gets asked in art discussions a lot. You'll find just as many answers as there are people. There is no right or wrong answer, only opinion. So, frequently, these types of threads end up turning into debates.

I'd suggest doing a search for "tracing" on WC and you'll find just how many opinions there are on the subject. ;) :D

I'll just cut and paste my standard response

Now, really...WHO CARES???