PDA

View Full Version : Lavendar Rose

amylynne
07-02-2004, 09:46 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-02-2004/1406_rosepntg1web.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Lavendar Rose
Year Created: 2004
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 9 x 12
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I found this pic in the reference library and loved it! I was also inspired by the incredible golden rose earlier in the week. This is my first try at a rose close up.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I don't think I'm getting enough flow in the petals and it looks stuck on once again...how can I fix this? Also I haven't touched the green leaves so ignore that. Any suggestions on anything would be great! Thanks

Mikey
07-02-2004, 09:49 AM
I can almost smell the scent, but cannot offer any advice on flowers.

Mikey

Dana Design
07-02-2004, 10:06 AM
Very difficult to see the leaves but the rose is well done. You could "melt" or fade some petals into the bg to achieve a look of oneness with the petals and bg instead of having them all perfectly edged.

I'll look forward to seeing this finished. Beautiful rose!

todd71_63116
07-02-2004, 03:43 PM
beautiful...i think it flows well...its all the negative space that seems to need something in it...something kind of muted maybe? so it doesnt take away from the rose itself...

maybe go a touch more vivid on the color of the rose..tho it may be the digital reproduction thats taken away from it...

its very nice...reminding me of a greeting card...if you did some kind of large gold script in the black...maybe to give it design and some interest, but not to distract...if that makes any sense..

Gilberte
07-02-2004, 03:55 PM
Nicely shadowed inside the petals creating great depth. Agree with Dana also !

TScottDove
07-02-2004, 09:30 PM
beautifully rendered. were it mine, i think i would bump-up the highlights and shadows for more drama.