PDA

View Full Version : Some help -advice needed

dhenton
06-28-2004, 10:14 PM
Hi--

I am a closet C++ programmer who has written some software which takes 3D models and creates NPR (non photorealistic rendering). The program is open source and should be ready for alpha testing in Sept. Since its open source, I won't be quitting my day job anytime soon.

My question for you is, I need to assess the market for this thing and thought about posting test samples on various digital art forums to get some feedback.
Alas, I don't know of any forums!!!!

Any suggestions of forums, or any other marketing exploration suggestions welcomed.

I've attached sample output.

Thanks!!!

Jin
06-29-2004, 01:20 AM
Hi dhenton,

I'm not much of a 3D person, Corel Painter being what takes up my time, but I used to work as a tech illustrator, graphic artist, and tech writer.

The piece displayed in your message has a really nice graphic look. I could see that look being applied to, for instance, semiconductor equipment brochures and those beautiful, expensive annual reports (that's the last industry I worked in before retiring, coincidentally).

There's such a clean crisp, fresh look to that image, really I could see it being used in all kinds of advertising, possibly even manuals providing the image didn't become too abstract to be practical.

In other words, I think it's unusually nice.

I expect those who play with a mix of 2D and 3D applications to create all kinds of complex and beautiful art would also get a kick out using something like this. That is, providing it's user friendly enough not to require a Ph.D. to use it.

I wonder, too, if it could be applied to architectural illustration. That's a thought. Just think of some really snazzy kazillion dollar building designed to sit at a perfect spot to show off the big city. Maybe this could be used to sell the idea, to advertise it.