PDA

View Full Version : creation of poster size prints

pr1130
06-28-2004, 05:19 PM
Can someone tell me: at what size and resolution do I need to create a file in photoshop to produce a good clear poster size print?

furrtig
06-28-2004, 05:35 PM
im not an expert, but at my office our graphics dept has a big plotter for printing out large proofs on various paper types. when ever i want a big poster size print done, he usually has me do it 36 x 42 and as high a rez as I can get it. 300 dpi is not uncommon. You can always bring it down with little to no degredation, but upsizing it will often pixel it badly. I guess the size is based on our plotter capabilities. hope it helps some.

furrtig

bloodjelly
06-28-2004, 05:38 PM
If you create a file in photoshop with the dimensions in inches of the poster you want to create, 300 DPI would be the best, 150 would suffice for a clear print. 250 is usually a nice compromise.

Michael
06-28-2004, 06:23 PM
I agree...when I have mine printed that large, the work is between 250 and 300 dpi.

peoplepainter
06-28-2004, 07:52 PM
I think furrtig is on the mark. I don't mean to throw a wrench in everything, but I work with a professional large format printer fella who can print up to 1400 dpi while most at home printers go up to around 300 dpi. When I send stuff to him for poster sized stuff (16 X 20 roughly), I always send 400dpi files and a canvas size of about 8 X 10. I have compared the 400 to the 300 and you CAN see a difference when enlarged to poster size.
They sure can be big ole files but it is worth it.
Does that help at all?

pr1130
06-29-2004, 01:13 AM
Thanks to all for the information.

I have created a file at 300 dpi for a 24 x 36 inch print (which is the target size). The main problem however is the filesize. It's 222.5 megs.

I have 750 megs of onboard ram but the file is still almost impossible to work on. Just takes forever to process each command.

Is there a simple way to overcome this?