PDA

View Full Version : Animated text/poetry -- Flash?

bigblackbox
06-27-2004, 04:04 PM
As I just mentioned in a previous post/question, I'm new to this. So please excuse the lack of knowledge. I've seen a technique I like, but I'm not sure how it is created - what software is used, etc. The link below has a few examples by one guy. Is this something that would be created in Flash? Made with other software and converted to a Flash animation? Is the software required for this pretty simple? Could it get more complicated - adding more non-text, visual elements - with the same software, or does that start to get messy?

Animated text/poetry (http://www.queer-arts.org/y2gay/stones/index.html)

SoniKalien
06-27-2004, 04:25 PM
It looks like it was made with Macromedia Director - it didn't work for me but I looked at the source.

Learning to create things in Flash and Director is almost an art in itself. If you want to have a look, download the trial versions and do a few tutorials that come with it.

Personally, I despise Flash, however at the moment there's not much other option for vector animation on the web.

If you want more info and stuff for Flash, www.flashkit.com is the place to go.

bigblackbox
06-27-2004, 04:28 PM
Thanks. I'm definitely not looking for a steep learning curve, and I would think (but what do I know) that animations like the ones in the link would be pretty straightforward to create... If that was made with Flash Director, could something similar have been done with other (easier/more intuitive) software? I'm not even really familiar with what's out there, or what you can do with it. Thanks.

CrystalSky
06-27-2004, 09:59 PM