PDA

View Full Version : First WIP tell me what to do (in GIMP) (ha ha I think I made a joke)

CrystalSky
06-25-2004, 12:54 PM
I haven't posted any pics in a long time so I might do this wrong...Now I know this is awful, but i haven't even done a regular sketch on paper in at least a year. This is my first digital WIP. I am completely new to digital, and I am starting with GIMP 2.0. Please give me some direction....What should I do to make this better (pretend I am 5 years old) Should I have started my background first then created this as another layer..also it is far from having ANY realistic qualities...any pointers there would be good too. Thank again!

CrystalSky
06-25-2004, 01:57 PM

Michael
06-25-2004, 02:09 PM
I am not very familiar with Gimp, but, from what I have seen, Gimp has fabulous smudging tools.

If it was me, I would begin by smudging together the different shades of colors, giving it a softer look, then decide from there which direction to close.

Remember....work from a copy and keep your original, just in case :D

Looking real good so far Crystal!!!..Keep it up!!

Duende
06-25-2004, 09:26 PM
Hello Crystalsky and welcome to the forum.
I find roses are extremely difficult flowers to paint. Since you are asking for help, I will pass on a few tips that I have learned .
Try starting off with a very faint sketch in a nuetral colour, remembering to "see" the "negative space" ( the space around the petal,) rather than petal itself.
You could soften some of edges of the petals to create "lost and found" edges, not every edge has to be sharp.
As far as color is concerned, if your really examine the rose carefully, you should find that their are many different warm and cool shades throughout the petals. Usually the petals are warmest where the light hits and cool in the shadows. If you can pick these colors out and paint them into your rose, they will give the impression of "mass" which will create a far more realistic look. I hope this helps. Paddy