PDA

View Full Version : wde 6-19 silly faces

Crystalline174
06-20-2004, 10:12 PM
I loved all the colours in the photo. I didn't really get a likeness, but I had fun with this anyway. Can't seem to get the tongue right, though.

I'm still very new to soft pastels, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I used soft pastels on Canson Mi-Teintes paper 8x12 (rough side, unfortunately)

Michelle

lisilk
06-20-2004, 11:07 PM
Welcome Michelle

I think your photo/ scan ( ?) itself is a little dark but the image is a charmer and I think you did beautifully ! You really captured her expression and personality. You even got the tounge to look real instead of like a flat sausage. LOL. Your colors are spot on too.

If you want some great advice and critique from the masters, post this in the Pastel Forum as well.

Awesome work ! :clap:

Deano
06-20-2004, 11:20 PM
I too think the image may be a little dark, but it looks like a good painting nontheless. The skin colors, expression, and fun seem to well done.

Crystalline174
06-20-2004, 11:55 PM
Thanks, Lisilk and Deano! :)

I'm glad to hear the fun part of it shows. That face of hers kept making me smile all the while that I was working it.

I agree, the earlier photo (from my digital camera) was a bit dark. I'm now attaching the scanned version, which I think is too light, but it shows more detail on it. The colours are much more vivid on the real thing.

Michelle

ajlec2000
06-21-2004, 12:08 AM
You captured the little girl being silly expression. Impressive for someone new to pastels. I think you are well on your way to mastering the medium. Lisilk is right. WC is a great place to learn how to use various materials, including pastels.

hopefulbucky
06-21-2004, 12:45 AM
Michelle, you did a great job. She is so cute and you have achieved a wonderful expression on her face. Really awesome work! :clap: :clap:

katju
06-21-2004, 07:24 AM
Hi Michelle,