PDA

View Full Version : Portrait Partners! Try this at home!

peoplepainter
06-12-2004, 12:12 AM
Warning: Try this at home!

Hi! JCoop (Joel) and I started a portrait swap and I think itís the most fun I have ever had painting. We each e-mailed pictures of ourselves to each other and then ready, set, go....we were off painting! As you know I am new to WC so I took on painting a virtual stranger which was a change of pace and painting another artist sure made me nervous. At the start of this I didnít know Joel very well but after many hours of painting him I think not only would I recognize him on the street, but I think I could maybe even paint him from memory. Thankfully, I had a lot to work with (you just never know what you are going to get).
I havenít seen his painting of me and he hasnít seen my painting(s) of him. We agreed to post our paintings at the same time. We did send tiny little thumbnails of a few sections as teasers, but other than that the poor guy is either going to like these or become my painting stalker. The e-mails he has been sending me are hilarious. The guy has the best sense of humor. He has really made this so much fun for me. To top it all off, I have NEVER had a portrait painted of me so that will be interesting to say the least. Not even a self-portrait. I am holding my breath. I know Joel is a great artist, but I also know the subject in this case and well, thereís only so much artistic plastic surgery one can do. I asked him to make me look like Farrah Fawcett in that old 70ís poster. Did he do it? I donít know yet. Iíll see it when you all see it.
I am in charge of posting all photos and artwork. Below you will find Joelís painting and a close-up.