PDA

View Full Version : The Empty Chair

bravynn
06-11-2004, 02:01 PM
Hi everyone,
I've been a new member for a short while, and had written a message before. Forgot my password, and have been busy offline, as well as busy at 'The Artists Loft', which is ran by Gloria/Flowerfancy, and Margie/Lady Alba. I am a beginner at digital painting, but have improved somewhat by learning from the nice people at 'The Loft'. I have a lot to learn, and I want to share my work occasionally, to receive constructive critiques on how I can improve. Below will be the first painting to post here. I know the proportion on the hands are off.....need more practice on hands, too. :)

Nevertheless...I'm diving in the WC water!

info tidbits about me.. I live in West Tennessee, by numerical count, I still have a half-century before I reach the century mark. heh and..if there is anything else you want to know about me...ask Gloria. *snickering* nah, just ask me :p

Here's my painting! [I've attached the painting..hope I did this right]

Barb/Barbara

Jet
06-11-2004, 02:36 PM
Welcome to WC...Barb,
..and that's as far as i go..
I like that piece but i always hide hands in my paintings or leave them "abstract" (unfinished) for the same reason.

You did this piece on PSP i presume...

I like bright deep hues but to somebody else, it could appear a little oversaturated.

Great Job..

Keep 'em rolling in !!
:cool:

Michael
06-11-2004, 02:42 PM
Welcome!!!

I am a fan of bold colors and my favorite colors are red and blue...soooo...My very first thought was I love it. The only real distraction I see IS the red on the chair...I think it draws the eye too much. Just needs a bit og lightening.

I would leave the blue as is though, that is what is holding everything in its place, so to speak.

All in all...except for what you have mentioned, I like the piece. Only other nit-pick, I would use less canvas texture...but that would be a personal preference thing :D

bravynn
06-11-2004, 03:20 PM