PDA

View Full Version : WDE 6/5 Rocky Shore

bluepellinore
06-06-2004, 03:14 PM
This is 18x24 Rembrandt pastel on Sepia Canson paper. I've been working on this for a little over 2 hours and I'm stopping now before I get more frustrated than I already am. I'm finding it hard to get my darks dark enough, because of the sepia colored paper and my limited pallet. Any helpful suggestions are welcomed. I'm fairly new to pastels.

katju
06-06-2004, 03:18 PM
I think it's really pretty. I don't think you have to follow the reference photo exactly. Sometimes a photo makes darks look too dark and you have to take some artistic license to make the values work together....I think the colored paper is perfect for this beach scene. And it looks almost done. Is it?

Kathy

xreader
06-06-2004, 03:20 PM
A very lovely painting! I especially like your lively treatment of the water creeping up the shore, or is it draining back to sea? :clap:

bluepellinore
06-06-2004, 03:21 PM
Almost done?? I wish! I could easily put a few more hours on this. The rocks still don't look right to me and I'm not sure how I'm going to handle the water yet. It's not "lying flat" against the sand to me. Any suggestions?

hopefulbucky
06-06-2004, 03:25 PM
This is great. I feel you got your darks in the crevasses of the cliff and I really love the colors you used on the rocks. Gives a sunny feel in portions. I think it is well done.

katju
06-06-2004, 03:41 PM
I think your rocks look fine so far. To make them look more like the photo look at the smaller sharp edged shapes and some jagged lines. I checked the reference photo to see about the water line. The beach does slope slightly. It's not perfectly flat. Also, if you want to be true to the photo, the water's edge has more wavy edges and they're a little thinner than what you've got. This is coming along very nicely. Keep going!!!

Kathy

FriendCarol
06-06-2004, 03:59 PM
Looks great to me, but then I don't understand pastel stuff (I only know I hate them).