PDA

View Full Version : My Cat Spooky

Danitangel
09-23-2001, 05:08 AM
Here is an Oil painting I did a few years ago. It is 20x24 oil on canvas. It is from a photo I took with an instant camera. The cat is larger than life, and l heard somewhere thats a no no.
What do you think?
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/23-Sep-2001/Spooky.jpg

Danitangel

ArtyHelen
09-23-2001, 05:38 AM
Why a no-no?
I think he's wonderful - gorgeous face, almost like a panther, but also almost human!
Great work!

Helen

Danitangel
09-23-2001, 06:04 AM
here is a better size for most viewers. http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/23-Sep-2001/Spooky1.JPG

jerryW
09-23-2001, 07:39 AM
it certainly is spooky.
the no no's are to be yes yessed in a free country.
powerful dark presence in this.

Danitangel
09-23-2001, 01:16 PM
thank you both....This is what I feel is one of my very few best works. I am a self taught oil painter, I have tried other mediums, but like the oils best. I have been away from it for some time now. Trying hard to get started again. I think its time to put my stuff back in the kitchen, where this painting was done. This time I'm going to stick to what I want to do like this painting, instead of trying to paint what might spark and intrest in a buyer.

Thanks again, Danitangel

Luvy
09-23-2001, 06:32 PM
Danitangel Welcome to Wet Canvas. I'm teaching myself how to paint also. The people here have helped me a lot and are very good at encouraging you to keep at it. I love these people already *S*
They really want you to succeed. *S*

Had to come back and edit this. *S* I forgot to tell you I just love this painting. You better get back to it quickly *S*

atont
09-23-2001, 07:14 PM
I'm reminded of my childhood - the rug, the furniture- fond memories of exploration and rolling around the floor as a kid having a good time. Funny how the little things in my childhood leave such impressions.

That is what caught me the most. Oh yeah, the cat is tremendous! :D

TeAnne