PDA

View Full Version : Tourist With Pina Collada

allanom
09-22-2001, 10:07 PM
I worked as an art director in the art department of a vacation tour operator at one point in my checkered career and, as such, was required to sort through reams of photography of tourist destinations. This is a figure I found one day.. and saved for use at a later date. I made up the background and added the jet top right corner (a shot from the Toronto annual air show). This is one of a series of paintings I've done over the years showing folks in idylic settings unaware of a dark threat in the sky behind them (something psychological going on there, I guess...).

Oil on canvas, 40" x 30"

jerryW
09-22-2001, 10:54 PM
gross
the war plane kind of goes with the wacky pinaple bomber

ejfarrae
09-22-2001, 10:59 PM
the painting is of course fabulously executed with just the right amount of sarcasm and threat allan but your new signature quote is even better. spread the message...

allanom
09-22-2001, 11:19 PM
jerry: "gross": Thanks!!

ejfarrae: Thanks for the compliment on the work. And, yes.. let's get the word out on the issue of the "gross" overkill of the gas guzzling, pseudo-macho-canyon-climbing, global warming stupid-beyond-belief lovefest North America has with the SUV. I came up with my little epithet while driving around the damn behemoths on my way home from work at my "day job" yesterday.

ejfarrae
09-22-2001, 11:27 PM
rock on brother.

Impulse
09-22-2001, 11:53 PM
almost an ironic footnote to current events

well executed as always

another impressive work

allanom
09-23-2001, 12:02 AM
impulse: Thanks. And not just the dark airplane icon.. the loss of innocence is an over-riding theme.
As always, an astute observation from you. Much appreciated...

Amorphis
09-23-2001, 02:33 AM
It's hilarious! And done so well... how funny. I really like it.

aaasp
09-23-2001, 10:06 AM
The simplicity makes it. Wonderfully sinister. Not that it matters, but why did you cut off his feet?
Anthony