PDA

View Full Version : Cornwall Seascape UK

online art
06-03-2004, 01:54 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this landscape/marine painting - I usually paint animals so I live over in that forum.

Tried this lanscape of a Cornwall (UK) scene it's about 2/3 rds done and I'm really enjoying the change of scene so to speak - sorry about that. Lol

Love to hear comments from the landscape forum members - good and bad.

Oil on canvas 20 x 16

LisaArt
06-03-2004, 09:05 PM
First time doing a marine scene. WOW. This is a beauty. I love it!

Marty C
06-03-2004, 09:14 PM
Hi Jason,
Welcome to the Marine Art forum. This is a marvelous work, the clarity is wonderful with fine control of light and dark. Hopefully the first of many posts to this forum.

Gillette
06-04-2004, 01:50 AM
Hi Jason
Loved your painting, brought forth a burst of nostalgia, as we spent many holidays exploring Cornwall. Is the headland in the background The Lizard?
Love your colours, you really have captured the Cornish coastline well
Jane.

online art
06-05-2004, 05:01 AM
Thanks everyone.

Hi Jane, Apparently this area is called Devils mouth or Hells mouth (I'll find out) makes a good name for a painting though.

Done a bit more last night - foreground mainly. Now I will go back and work on the large sea area which looks quite dead and boring so far - nothing dramatic there though.

LarrySeiler
06-05-2004, 12:23 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Jun-2004/532-cornwall-landscape-detail.jpg

this looks like a good painting/composition in and of itself as well Jason....

Thinking I'd like better without the foreground....but certainly if I were painting a plein air of this area...what a nice statement this would be! Good positive elements...negative space, balance and eye path...very nice...

Larry

online art
06-05-2004, 01:08 PM
Hi Larry - Thanks SOOOO much for dropping by and giving me your fantastic appraisal of my painting.