PDA

View Full Version : digital elf portrait - tips?

MSAndie
06-02-2004, 07:49 PM
I'm just getting into digital work.

This was my first serious attempt. Using mostly the airbrush in photoshop. I'm pretty happy with the skintones, but i have reservations about the hair. I've tried multiple times to improve it, but can't seem to... I tried adding texture, sharpening, painting more details. I don't have a tablet (yet) so i'm limited in control by my mouse... I drew a pencil sketch initially before painting over it in photoshop.

Any tips on how to imrpove the hair???

I've attached the digital piece, the original drawing, and the ref image. (Yes, i know the piece doesn't match the ref image, but i wasn't going for a copy, just used it for help with the pose and hair.) :)

CarolinaGal
06-02-2004, 08:26 PM
Taylia, you're doing very well if you're just getting started. One suggestion though, don't keep those dark "outlines" around the chin and hair. IMO they're very distracting on a really lovely piece. Use darker shadows and slightly blurred lines instead of the sharp, dark ones.

Wish I could see the hair here, but I can't.

Edited - looked again. You're going in the right direction, just not far enough. First puit in blocks of color and then go in with a few fine lines that are crisp for the dark lights and the highlight (which should be lighter than you've used so far).

Georgia

Michael
06-02-2004, 09:05 PM
I think you might try running the USM Unsharp Mask, found in Filters>Sharpen>Unsharp Mask) filter over the piece, that, I believe would draw more attention to the hair and define it a bit more.

I think this is a gorgeous painting, and really can't wait to see more of your work!! :clap:

flowerfancy58
06-03-2004, 12:47 AM
Neat looking piece:) I agree about the outlines though. I know working with the mouse is tiring and limiting, but I think all you need to do is touch up with some very light highlights just as the ref shows:)

gloria

Cronious